Doc. No.: J16/97-0030

WG21/N1068

Date: March 28, 1997

Project: PL C++

Reply to: William M. Miller

wmm@ziplink.net

Minutes of U.S. TAG Meeting, March 13, 1997

The meeting was called to order at 4:18 p.m. by Clark Nelson, J16 International Representative, with 22 of the 29 U.S. TAG members with voting rights in attendance, satisfying the requirements for a quorum; the attendance list is reproduced below. Mike Miller volunteered to act as secretary since the J16 secretary is not a member of the U.S. TAG.

Nelson reported that the U.S. delegation to the Nashua WG21 meeting were Benito, Clamage, Koenig, Nelson, and Stroustrup. Lajoie moved that the same delegation be named for the July meeting, and Dawes seconded. The motion was approved: lots/0/0.

Nelson explained that the remaining business for the meeting was to ratify the comments on the draft from the J16 meeting as the TAG's recommended U.S. comments on the CD ballot and to decide between a "yes with comments" and a "no with comments" recommendation for the vote. A substantial discussion ensued regarding the meaning of the possible votes.

Spicer felt that a "yes" vote would indicate that the Committee thought that the document was acceptable as it stands, in spite of the comments, and that a "no" vote would indicate that it was not acceptable without changes. Koenig was concerned that SC22 could view a "yes with comments" as a license to forward the draft as a DIS as is rather than allowing the Committee to fix issues that had been identified in the comments. Anderson thought that it would be odd to vote "yes," given such a long list of comments, some very substantive, especially in light of the Committee's aggressive schedule.

Clamage observed that if all the National Bodies voted "no," there was a significant risk that SC22 would decide that the document should not advance to DIS but would require another CD ballot. Plum mentioned that WG21 has agreed to address National Body comments regardless of whether the vote was "yes" or "no." Plauger said that the normal use of a "no with comments" vote was to ensure that the comments were heard, and that the U.S. is heard without the use of this leverage; he also emphasized that SC22 will send WG21 all comments received and expects WG21 to address the comments mentioned in "yes" votes.

Dawes moved that the U.S. TAG recommend a vote of "yes with comments;" Losoff seconded.

Koenig moved to amend the motion to indicate that the U.S.'s understanding was that its comments will be addressed; Stanchfield seconded.

Plum felt that such a statement would be embarrassing because it would indicate a lack of trust in WG21's disposition of the U.S.'s comments; he said that the only reason for a "no with comments" vote or for this kind of statement would be if one's comments had been neglected in the WG. Stanchfield replied that this amendment was just an attempt to clarify the intent in the face of confusion.

The motion to amend was defeated: 2/lots/0.

Anderson observed that additional problems, not in any NB's comments, may be discovered later and asked if the Committee could decide on its own to have another CD ballot rather than advancing to DIS. Plum said that such a course was possible, but that another alternative would be to proceed with the DIS and address problems via Defect Reports and Technical Corrigenda, which have the effect of patching the Standard.

The motion to recommend a "yes with comments" and attach the comments developed by J16 was approved: 20/3 (including one negative vote cast by written proxy).

Ball moved to adjourn and was seconded by Dawes. With no objection, the meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Attendance:

Name	Affiliation
* Koenig, Andrew	AT&T
Stroustrup, Bjarne	AT&T
Rousseau, Ben	Centerline Software
* Charney, Reg	Charney & Day
* Comeau, Greg	Comeau Computing
Swan, Randall	C-Team Inc
Stump, Mike	Cygnus Solutions
* Meyers, Randy	DEC
Phillmore, Coleen	DEC
Ward, Judy	DEC
Whitman, Sandra	DEC
* Plauger, P.J.	Dinkumware Ltd
* Adamczyk, Steve	Edison Design Group
Anderson, Mike	Edison Design Group
Spicer, John	Edison Design Group
Klarer, Robert	IBM
* Lajoie, Josee	IBM
* Colvin, Greg	IMR
* Nelson, Clark	Intel
Suto, Gyuszi	Intel
* Schwarz, Jerry	Intrinsa
* Stanchfield, Scott	Metaware Inc
Hsieh, Chih-Hung	Microtec (Mentor Graphics)
Wellander, Patrick	Microtec (Mentor Graphics)
Kumoluyi, Akin	Motorola
* Losoff, Alan	Nations Bank
Braatz, Brian	Oak Tree Software
* Benito, John	Perennial
* Plum, Tom	Plum Hall
Sreekumar, Natarajan	Rogue Wave
* Saks, Dan	Saks & Associates
* Rouse, Jack	SAS Institute
* Schilling, Jonathan	sco
* Dawes, Beman	self
Gibbons, Bill	self
Myers, Nathan	self
* Austern, Matt	SGI
* Miller, William M.	Software Emancipation Tech
* Ball, Michael	Sun Microsystems
Clamage, Steve	Sun Microsystems
* Crowfoot, Norman	Xerox

^{*} indicates voting member of organization with voting rights or individual with voting rights